Guide: Getting ready for Get-aways

aka How to avoid looking like I do in that picture.

When you read this, I will probably be on a plane to Gran Canaria. Or maybe not because WordPress is messing up my scheduled posts. Either way, on the second week of January 2017, I will be vacationing in the Canary Islands.

I have many mixed emotions about this trip. I’ve had no say in the destination nor the timing of the trip, as I was invited to celebrate a 60th birthday. I would never have picked Gran Canaria because I have a lot of negative preconceived notions about the place, but going away during the dead winter might be very good for the soul. Travelling with the in-laws, however? Maybe not so much…

Well, I don’t know, it could be good… I’m just weird. I don’t like travelling with many people as it limits my influence on … well, everything. More people means more compromise and I am not down for that. I like being the boss of the trip or at least co-boss (which I think is the technical term) so that I can control each and every detail. But alas, here I am, getting ready to go on a vacation with my parents-in-law.. and brother-in-law and his wife… and oh yeah, their kid and “letting them” do the all deciding.

I’ve come to terms with it because it’s just one of those things you have to accept, like death and taxes however, one thing I still do have control over is my preparation. After many years of travelling unprepared and frazzled, I’ve come to learn all the things to do beforehand to avoid travel catastrophes and forgetting your toothbrush; things that lowers your anxiety, because they make you feel in control. I see myself now as being pretty good at this organizing game, so I thought I would share are my top 5 tips here.

1. Do your homework

img_8975

Look, I love being spontaneous as much as the next guy (not really, but let’s pretend) but you’ve got to know even just a little bit about where you’re going. Right now, you’re probably sitting there and thinking “Seriously, Karla, who doesn’t read up on the essentials before going away?” but you’d be surprised about how many people let their travel buddies do all the researching on their own and solely depend on them for guidance. I think it’s a pity because reading and researching about a destination is half (okay, maybe less for most people) the fun. Also, it’s practical to know the local customs, some basic phrases and regulations, so that you feel safe and avoid faux pas at the borders. Which brings me to the next tip.

2. Check your passport and visas.

img_8275

I am lucky that I have a passport that automatically grants me tourist access to almost any country in the world. However, I know that few are as lucky as me, so please do yourself the favor and check if you need a visa to the country you’re travelling to; even if you are 99% sure that you don’t. Sometimes, even if you don’t need a visa, you will have to fill out some weird forms beforehand (hi, ESTA!), so just check so that everything is in order before you go. You can do this by looking at the website of your country’s embassy… of the country you’re going to (that was a very bad sentence, I know).

Also double-check and then triple check your passport’s expiration date. Some countries only let you enter if there is more than 6 months ’till your passport expires and not, if it’s less. And it would suck so hard being denied entrance just because of this.

3. Get insured / check your insurance 

img_7840

After we came home from our honeymoon, I had a meeting with the bank, where we went through our finances (how adult-ish) and insurances and I found out, to my horror, that our travel insurance only covered EU-destinations. Talk about being extra happy that nothing happened during our honeymoon that required our insurance… because we weren’t f*cking insured in the US. This is a major blunder, so don’t let it happen to you.

And no, being insured is not boring and unsexy; it’s nice not having to pay for a trip you’ve had to cancel and being able to get medical help in a private hospital when you’re in a developing country. It’s sexy to have your shit together, so just do it.

4. Charge (and check) all your batteries and empty your SD cards

img_3835

I once traveled all the way to Texas only to find out that my camera battery had been so completely depleted that even when charged, I couldn’t turn on the camera. This is nothing major but it’s a hassle finding a place to get new batteries and it’s precious time taken away from vacationing.

Already a few days before, start charging and checking the batteries for your cameras, tablets, power banks and other electronics you’re planning to take with you. And while you’re at it, empty your SD card onto your computer or external  hard disk; there’s nothing more annoying than trying to select a picture to delete from your previous trip to make room for the unique shot of that kangaroo sitting next to you right at this moment.

5. Have everything ready the night before you leave

img_0313

Yes, I know that it’s easier said than done (so you can stop booing now), but this is important, especially if you have an early flight. Make sure to pack your suitcase, carry-on and your personal bag/purse and leave these by the door before you go to bed. “But what about all the things I need right up to leaving, like my toothbrush?” you whelp. Well, of course don’t pack these away but have them all collected in one place, so you’re not rummaging for these the morning of.  And that toothbrush? Have a new, clean one in your suitcase packed and ready; this way, you have one less thing to remember on that frantic morning, which ought not be frantic, because you’re so organized! Yay for you.

Other than being packed and ready with your bags, you can lay out your travel outfit and shoes, set the coffee maker to start in the morning, empty out the fridge, take the trash out and if you’re really pro-level, have an easy breakfast, like overnight oats, ready to be eaten while you revel in the well-planned-awesomeness that is your life.

These are the things I try to do before each trip. Of course, sometimes I don’t get around to doing all those things but being just a bit organized takes the anxiety of travelling just a little bit; even if you’re travelling with the in-laws 😉

2 thoughts on “Guide: Getting ready for Get-aways

Leave a comment