2015 Musings and 2016 Resolutions

Another year has flown by and once again I ask myself: “Where did the time go?”

Well 2015 went with a lot of things actually; when I look back, I have in fact been quite busy. I may not have traveled as much as I have wanted to in 2015 but on the home front a lot of things have happened.

Martin and I bought and moved in to our new home in January 2015; it’s a charming 2-story apartment in the (soon-to-be, I’m very sure of it) trendy Vanløse and although we’ve had our disagreements with the decor and lack of storage space we’ve both come to love our little home.

16501_10105687872150550_7881093431254725767_nIMG_4437IMG_4111

The winter/spring of 2015 went with getting settled into our apartment, a trip to Paris, which actually left Martin very ill and admitted to the hospital.

We had our housewarming, went for dinners out and with/at friends’. We went to the circus, the zoo,  and watched the cherry blossoms bloom. In April, we celebrated our first year anniversary; we spent it recreating our first date and going to the drive-in. Yes, it was cheesy and yes, it was awesome.

IMG_4146IMG_4133IMG_4257IMG_3934IMG_4227IMG_4099IMG_3960

The summer went as it always does; with a trip to the cabin, studying for my exams, me working at the office, which was mostly empty and me celebrating my birthday which was extra special this year because I turned 30, hooray! I had three birthday dinners (one for every decade) and a lot of fun.

IMG_4291IMG_4432IMG_4344IMG_4924

We also spent a lot of time outdoors, going for walks in the woods, had visitors from Australia, engaging in plenty of al fresco dining and sailing. Oh the fun we had sailing… Actually, I was scared shitless, as I have a tendency to always fall in any body of water.

IMG_4415IMG_4482IMG_4983IMG_4840IMG_4471

I survived the sailing and spent the fall and winter with what felt like dinner guests every week, hanging out at cafés and restaurants, going to concerts and to a stand up show with our favorite Fluffy Guy.

IMG_5606IMG_5944IMG_5919IMG_5659

We were also in Lefkada for our yearly long vacation, which I documented here. And of course we celebrated the traditional (and also random) holidays and started new traditions like going to the Big Lebowski Drink-along.

IMG_5477IMG_5710image2image1

We finished 2015 off with a lovely trip to Dublin, where we day-drank our little hearts out. More about that trip will be on this blog shortly.

IMG_6025IMG_6043

Of course a lot more than what I wrote happened during 2015. I’ll only mention the highlights otherwise you’ll be bored to death.

I personally think that 2015 was a good year despite me not thriving so much in my day job and some pretty horrible hospital stuff with both my and Martin’s family. I just wish that 2016 will be less as traumatic and much more filled with great and fun experiences.

To finish this post, I will quickly mention my travel wishes for 2016; a sort of travel New Year’s resolutions, if you will. I think it will be kind of fun, even though I really don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions, as it is always interesting to look back later and see if you actually made things happen for yourself.

  1. I would like to travel to the US at least once in 2016. There was a time when I traveled to the US at least twice a year and I miss it so. I know that you shouldn’t revisit the same places constantly and explore new places instead but the USA is so vast and there are many cities I have not yet visited, so hopefully, this will be possible in 2016.
  2. Istanbul is also on my wish list this year. Martin and I have talked for ever about visiting the city, which neither of us have traveled to before, but we can’t seem to get ourselves together and actually book the damn tickets. This year, we will!
  3. Martin will be going to Hamburg with his friends in May and I might join them; but honestly, I think I’ll save my pennies for a trip to Amsterdam with Martin instead. I’ve been eyeing the city for a few years now and it’s getting silly that I haven’t gone when it’s so close and the airfare is so affordable.

So there you have it; my New Year’s travel resolutions. I’ve made them a bit modest so that they are realistic destinations but they are still places I would very much love to see. Wonder if a year from now I can say that I’ve traveled to all those places and them some; I sure hope so… at least I will do my very best to make that happen.

 

 

Leave a comment